In October of 2004, the Executive Board approved the establishment of the William J. Cooke Memorial Scholarship Fund in recognition of Bill Cooke’s tireless efforts to improve the working conditions of his fellow brothers and sisters. Bill “Cooke” was a Teamster member for 31 years. For more than half of his career, he served as an elected Union officer.

Today we congratulate this years winners.


Congratulations to Colin Esterlund, Marissa Lauri Gillespie, Michelle Lynn Gluck, Kelly Lynn Logothetis, Zachary M. Pipino, Sara Madison Trainor and Madison Marie Whartenby. Local 623 members wish you continued success in your academic and professional pursuits.

Scholarships were awarded on the basis of scholastic achievement and personal qualifications as determined by the Selection Committee. All applicants were be considered without regard to race, religion, gender, disability, or any other legally protected status.

We normally recognize Scholarship awardees at our General membership meeting . With the current restrictions in place due to the coronavirus pandemic, we are unable to do so this year. However, we would like to recognize our scholarship winners in a different way. We will be doing drive-by appreciations for this year's winners throughout May.

Thanks again to all of our applicants and congratulations to our awardees.